Home

We manage our daily activities by using a variety of movements and postures such as walking, standing, sitting or lying down. Be it working at a PC, getting something out of the cupboard, sporting activities or making music – we usually do all these things automatically.

“Habits are like a curtain dividing our needs and our actions”

During the period of our lives we develop habitual routines which help us to act without being conscious of or thinking about “how” we do these things. We very rarely question how we stand, sit at the desk, take something out of the cupboard or drive back home during rush hour.

We just do it. But quite often we get out of our seat at the desk because we have become too uncomfortable or get back and/or neck and shoulder pain after a long distance journey. Sometimes, especially when we are stressed we cultivate movements and positions which limit our mobility which can create back, neck, shoulder and headaches, nervousness and joint problems as a consequence.
Alexander-technique offers possibilities to recognise those habits and ways of resolving those issues in order for us to do the things we want to do with more freedom and a feeling of wellbeing: automatic movements and thought patterns linked to them can be unearthed and consequently be changed so we that we can be more conscious and act accordingly in our daily lives. This means we can learn how we can sit at the desk for longer with ease, how we can get through long distance journeys and rush hour without unnecessary tension and how we can use our voice or play an instrument with ease.

“Stop before you start” (Sting) could act as a first commandment for this.

Because quite often we react to demands instantly and automatically. With the help of Alexander-technique you can learn to consciously take a step back, assess the situation first and then act accordingly.

Home

Home

4768815815253586671_nUnsere alltäglichen Aktivitäten bewältigen wir durch unterschiedliche Bewegungsabläufe und Körperhaltungen, wie z. B. Gehen, Stehen, Sitzen oder Liegen. Die Arbeit am PC, etwas aus dem Schrank holen, Sport treiben oder musizieren – all diese Dinge tun wir in der Regel automatisch.

„Gewohnheiten sind wie ein Vorhang, der zwischen unseren Bedürfnissen und unserem Handeln steht.“

Im Laufe unseres Lebens haben wir Gewohnheitsmuster ausgebildet, mit deren Hilfe wir handeln können, ohne darüber nachzudenken, „wie“ wir diese Dinge tun. Wir fragen uns selten, wie wir Stehen, am Schreibtisch sitzen, etwas aus einem Schrank holen, oder durch den Feierabendstau nach Hause fahren.

Wir tun es einfach. Oft stehen wir aber vom Schreibtisch auf, weil wir nicht mehr Sitzen können, bekommen nach einer Staufahrt Rücken- und / oder Schulterverspannungen. Manchmal, vor allem wenn wir unter Stress geraten, kultivieren wir bestimmte Bewegungen und Körperhaltungen, die uns in unserer Freiheit einschränken. Rücken-, Schulter- und Kopfschmerzen, Nervosität, Gelenkprobleme können die Folge davon sein.

Die Alexander-Technik bietet Möglichkeiten, diese Gewohnheiten zu erkennen und aufzulösen, damit wir mit mehr Leichtigkeit und Wohlbefinden das tun können, was wir gerne tun möchten: Automatisierte Bewegungs-/ und daran geknüpfte Denkmuster können entdeckt und nachhaltig verändert werden, so dass wir uns bewusst und der jeweiligen Situation angemessen durch den Alltag bewegen können. Das heißt man kann lernen, müheloser längere Zeit am Schreibtisch zu sitzen oder leichter, mit weniger körperlicher Anspannung eine Staufahrt zu überstehen, mit mehr Leichtigkeit seine Stimme zu benutzen oder ein Instrument zu spielen.

»Stop before you start« (Sting) könnte dabei die erste Regel lauten.

Denn gewöhnlich reagieren wir auf Anforderungen sofort und automatisch. Mit Hilfe der Alexander-Technik lernen Sie, bewusst Inne zuhalten, die Situation erst zu überblicken und dann zu handeln.

 

test1